Getting There

Standard

Are you good at giving directions?  I’m not.  Not even a little!  Take the following story as an example:

Years ago, I was returning home from dropping my children off at school.  I noticed a teenaged boy attempting to enter a home through the window of a house I was passing.  It just didn’t seem right.  This incident happened prior to my having a cell phone, so I decided to stop at a drugstore to call 911.

I always get nervous when I make a call to these emergency personnel, but I knew it was my civic duty.  I explained the situation as I’d seen it.  Then she asked the dreaded question:  “What is the location of this emergency?”  And that’s where my directional difficulties kicked in.  I did not have an address, so I attempted to give directions to the location.   I am inept at north, south, east, and west, but left and right will usually do the trick for me.  I was fairly certain I’d given good directions, so I hung up and drove back to watch the action from a safe and discreet distance.  I was pleasantly surprised to find the police already “there,” and totally horrified to see them at the wrong house!  In my defense, the incident had taken place at a particularly confusing jog in the road where the name of the road changed.  The officers were down the road after the crazy jog, completely catty-cornered to where they needed to be.  Well, what’s a girl to do?  I slowly drove into the driveway of the large wooded lot where police were surrounding the entire premises.  As I crept up the driveway, a police officer stepped in front of my car, holding out a stiff arm to stop me.  He came to my driver’s window and said, “Ma’am, I cannot let you in here.  We’ve had a report of a prowler, and we’re checking it out.”

At that point, I admitted that I was the one who had called in the report, and that they were at the wrong house.  He immediately stepped away from my car and called out to the other officers a change of location.  It was one of my life’s most humbling and embarrassing moments.  I watched them jump into their cars and drive around the corner to the other house.

Out of my concern, I had tried my best to give good, detailed directions.  But I had goofed everything up!

I am so thankful that I do not often get asked for directions.  I am also grateful for GPS and Siri!

But I am most thankful that The Lord has made provision for directionally-challenged people like me.  He has given simple, easy-to-follow and easy-to-share directions to Heaven!  He tells us in John 14:6, “I am the way, the truth, and the life.  No man cometh unto the Father but by me.”  He is the ONLY way to Heaven.  Acts 4:12 clearly states, “Neither is there salvation in any other:  for there is none other name under Heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved.”  “Believe on The Lord Jesus Christ, and thou shalt be saved.”  (Acts 16:31)  Titus 3:5 makes it clear that there is nothing we can do to earn or merit salvation.  It is only made available through the mercy of God.  “Not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to His mercy He saved us.”

Those directions could not be plainer!  I can follow them!  As a matter of fact, that’s exactly what I did at age six.  Furthermore, I have absolutely no hesitation in sharing these directions with others who are lost and have not found the way!  I often tell people that the directions for getting to Heaven are the only directions I feel confident to give to them!  When we follow the directions found in the Word of God, we are assured of arriving at the right destination, eternally!

No excuse for not following and sharing these most important directions of all!  And that thrills me!

(By the way, the boy was entering his own house, I later learned.  He’d locked himself out!  I’m thinking we both learned a lesson that day!)

5 thoughts on “Getting There

  1. Linda, I love this. I am so thrilled you found time to write again. This one reminded me of something you would find in Daily Bread. Why not write your own devotional?? I loved this one. “Sooooo Linda”! Ha. Love you honey. Keep the presses running!

    Like

Leave a Reply

