Above and Beyond

Standard

Twilight.  That time of day when the sun sinks just below the horizon has long fascinated me. At dusk, the sun seemingly disappears but still manages to illuminate the earth in an ethereal way. I have always referred to it as my favorite time of day. It is a big deal to me, and I am thrilled when I catch it at precisely the right time.

Yesterday was one of those days. As I backed out of the driveway and started winding my way through the neighborhood, I became increasingly excited about getting to the open view of the sky at the end of the street. I was fairly certain I was catching the sky in its spectacular silhouette mode. I was right.

As I gazed up into the burnt yellow sky, everything in the foreground stood stark black. I could not discern the details in my surroundings. Only the outlines of trees, houses, a fence, vehicles, and such were distinguishable.  Nevertheless, behind those simply outlined shapes, the sky shone brilliantly.  The dark images did not draw my attention; but the sky drew a tiny “ooooohh” of admiration from my lips. Twilight had, once again, mesmerized me.

Why? Why does twilight make me happy? No one had ever asked me. I had never really asked myself this question. Until yesterday. As I continued down the road to pick my husband up from work, I found myself wondering at the reasoning behind the effect of twilight on my spirit. What was it about twilight that I loved?

The answer came surprisingly quickly. And it made complete sense! At twilight, my eyes are automatically drawn upward, above and beyond anything in my immediate sphere of influence or concern. Life’s details are obscured, blurred into oblivion. The glorious sunset rivets my attention, causing me to forget anything on earth (quite literally) that might otherwise be dragging my spirit downward. For those brief moments, my focus changes. Amidst all else, something bigger and much more grand is taking place. It’s hard to miss!

To me, quite simply, twilight signifies hope. Who could not use a good dosage of hope?

From my earthbound vantage point, a beautiful twilight is not visible every day. There are times the clouds hide it. At other times, my schedule makes it impossible to catch it. But above the clouds and beyond my schedule, twilight takes place daily as part of earth’s rotation. Sometimes I must remind myself in faith that twilight does, indeed, occur every day. Although the seasons make the timing variable, it happens whether I see it or not.

Several Scripture verses confirm this truth. My hope is in the Lord  Who lives eternally in Heaven above, and Who lives in my heart. I claim Isaiah 26:3 as my life verse to remind me of the importance of my focus. “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed upon thee, because he trusteth in thee.” God wants to be my primary focus.

Psalm 121:1,2 “I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help. My help cometh from the LORD which made heaven and earth.” The psalmist understood the value of lifting his eyes upward toward the heavens. His gaze reminded him of the help found in God.

Sometimes I become overwhelmed with hurts and burdens and find it difficult to look up. At those times, God has given me the promise of Psalm 3:3 that He Himself will lift my eyes. “Thou, O LORD, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of my head.” When I look up into the sweet eyes of my Savior, my earthly cares fade away. My hope is restored. Peace sweeps into my spirit. I discover a spiritual perspective in my life.

Twilight will probably continue to be my favorite time of day. My husband will continue to call and tell me to look outside when he knows it is visible. It will undoubtedly always make me happy, but now I understand why.

With each gaze above and beyond, I will be reminded of the great hope I have in Jesus. He is the greatest twilight of all!

5 thoughts on “Above and Beyond

  1. Cathy Hof

    Well as tears welled up in my eyes, I felt everything you were saying. How I did I ever make it from Day to Day without my Savior!
    Thank you Linda 💖

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

