FLIGHT PLANS: BEING INTENTIONAL IN MY SPIRITUAL JOURNEY

Standard

I’ve seen quite an abundance of large, lovely butterflies this summer. Each one delights me, especially as I consider all these marvelous creatures had to endure to get to this stage of beauty! They mesmerize me. I feel I’ve been granted a special prize when I have an opportunity to watch one at length, especially when it lands right before my eyes.

Now, I’m still watching for it, but there’s one thing I’ve never seen a butterfly do: fly in a straight line. Have you? It almost makes me cross-eyed as I watch them carelessly flit from one place to the next, zigzagging their pretty way through life. How do they ever find their way home again?

🦋

They are curious creatures. In particular, their flight pattern . . . if they even have one. From my vantage point, methinks they have no intentional path planned. They seem to follow the breeze, flying uncharted, unchecked, unregistered. Flying the winds of least resistance. Kind of a “When I get there, I’ll know” mentality.

And, I guess it works for them.

🦋

Honestly, though, I cannot help but compare myself to a butterfly. I’d like to tell you I’m like a butterfly because of my beauty. But, that’s not where I’m going with this for obvious reasons.

I can give you two other reasons why I’m like a butterfly though. One is good. One, eh, not so much. 🦋

First, the better reason: I have come through some tremendously hard times in my life. I’ve struggled to get through situations I thought would certainly break me, crush me, or even kill me. If that sounds dark, I’m sorry. But it’s the truth. I’m being transparent here. Some of those battles, as truly serious as they were, I struggled through alone. I built a cocoon around myself, letting only a very few people know the seriousness of the situation. Most people will never know. They don’t need to know. I made it through by the enduring love, faithfulness, and grace of God. And, now, as I look back on those days, I realize I grew stronger because of them. I came out with a greater amount of compassion, of wisdom, and purpose. And certainly with a better understanding of reality! Though I wouldn’t want to repeat those situations, I’m thankful for what they made of me. They changed me into a new person. Honestly, a stronger person. Just like a butterfly, the struggle was worth it!

🦋

But, secondly, here’s the “I’m still working on this” comparison: I have a hard time keeping my eyes on the goal. I’m a “flitter-er.” Early in life, during my fifth grade year, to be exact, I surrendered my life to God. Our family was hosting a missionary family in our home at the time. They became Aunt Lois and Uncle Walt to us kids. Aunt Lois walked into my bedroom one night, and we talked. That conversation led to my prayer of complete surrender. I told the Lord I’d do whatever He wanted me to do, be whatever He wanted me to be, and go wherever He wanted me to go. And I meant every word of it. I still do! 🦋

So, does that mean I’ve walked a straight path toward my goal every day since fifth grade? Sadly, no. Remember? I’m a “flitter-er”!

I can honestly and gratefully state I’ve never purposely turned away from God’s plan for my life. I thank the Lord for allowing me to be reared in a God-fearing home with parents who exemplified the joy of serving Jesus! But I hasten to humbly admit that I’ve often strayed from the path. I’ve been sidetracked by this little pretty over here and that tasty morsel over there. Oh, and see that lovely 🦋!! Or as my students used to say, “Squirrel!!” Distractions can honestly spell the death of a vision.

Sadly, it’s entirely possible to miss God’s will by simply not being intentional about the goal. Psalm 119:67 sates “Before I was afflicted I went astray.” The words “went astray” literally imply the motion of fluttering like a butterfly. It’s not deliberate refusal, intentional sin, or willful disobedience. It’s the seemingly harmless wandering, mindless submission to worthless use of time, and vain considerations of other people’s opinions of me. It’s getting sidetracked from my purpose by other “good” activities. It’s being controlled by my own comfort zone. Aimlessness. It’s not keeping every thought and step in line with the purpose God has given me.

The past few years, I’ve learned much about being intentional. It’s absolutely necessary in caregiving. Lack of intentionality can be disastrous! But I’m learning the same intentionality is necessary in my spiritual life. Lack in this area can, likewise, bring disaster. I must be intentional in my pursuit of knowing God. I must intentionally put on the whole armor of God every morning. I must put blinders on my eyes to minimize those situations which could cause me to go astray. I must walk into each situation with my spiritual backpack loaded with memorized Scripture, thoughtful, fervent prayer, and a strong desire to make a difference in someone else’s life. I must hold myself accountable for every minute, every thought, every action. 🦋

I realize I’m speaking somewhat metaphorically, but I believe you know what I mean. In a nutshell – (sorry for the allusion to squirrels again!) – I must stop wasting my time and energy on those things which do not help me accomplish God’s perfect will for each day. I find my greatest distractions tend to be related to technology and to plain old worry. Technology, well, I’m sure you get that one. Worry? I worry about what others will say or think. I worry about my own lack of capability. I worry about the step a mile ahead before I exert the energy to take the step right in front of me. 🦋

Perhaps your nemeses are different. I encourage you to identify yours and adjust your flight plan accordingly. I’m certainly trying to do that.

Someone recently challenged me to come up with the saddest possible four word phrase. I came up with “I was going to . . . .” I pray I don’t conclude my days with those words. Please, Lord, keep my flight plan straight. May everything else be brought into captivity.

🦋

“Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ.” 2 Corinthians 10:5. 🦋

4 thoughts on “FLIGHT PLANS: BEING INTENTIONAL IN MY SPIRITUAL JOURNEY

Leave a comment